Skip to content

No Updates Before, During and After My Party

December 30, 2011

On my next party invitation following will be printed:

I love social media. I post to Twitter every single day and to Facebook (in another name) and Google+ very often. I keep grooming my LinkedIn. I use Quora and I try out almost every new social network comming along.

For me it is not a question of abstaining, it is a must to participate. You have to participate in order not to handicap yourself.

However, I want to controle my info myself.

I, and only I, decide what to be posted about me and when and where. That’s why I really don’t like Facebook’s tagging-service. It is eliminating our right to controle our own info.

I see a horrible trend: That people take pictures at parties and public places of others and post them to Facebook without getting the permission of the persons they took pictures of. It is a bad habit. It is invading my definition of privacy, and I will ask all my guests in the future not to tag me or my guests, while they are guests in my home.

A Facebook-free-party-zone is what is needed.

Happy New Year

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Jones permalink

    I, and only I, decide what to be posted about me and when and where.

    No you don’t. Get over it.

Leave a Reply

